Bald-faced News: 12/31/16 End of the Year, but We’re Still Here

Yoko Taro supports Atlus, I relive past experiences, and one of gaming’s greatest legends is uncovered.

What was Played

I took a break this week from most of my routine video games; no AC Syndicate or Fallout 4. I still played Steins;Gate though, since I’ve finally broken through the first five hours. Steins;Gate starts insanely slow, like Persona 4 slow, but I hope, like Persona 4, that Steins;Gate makes me forget the slow start. I spoiled myself on some concepts and plot points in an effort to pique my curiosity to drive me to finish the game, and once I discovered flowcharts for each chapter I immediately stopped spoiler searching and sat down and played the game. I am currently in the middle of Chapter 3, just after you discover the image of “Jellyman”. Given that time travel is a major plot device in this game, and hopefully also a mechanic, I am very excited to finish this game. Speaking of Japanese-made, emotion based games I finally got around to starting The Last Guardian. I loved Shadow of the Colossus and enjoyed Ico and so far this feels like a mix between the two. I’m not even an hour in but this is clearly going to be another one of Fumito Ueda’s games, and if you didn’t like Shadow or Ico I wouldn’t recommend it. But for me this week was dominated by Overcooked. If you have one to three friends to play this with and 17 dollars to spare, get this game. It’s a co-operative cooking game where you need to coordinate with your friends to chop, stew, fry, and clean in a kitchen. Your controls are move, pick up/put down, interact, and dash, that’s it. Overcooked’s difficulty comes from its crazy stages. One stage has your kitchen in the middle of a street and another has you jumping between two moving vans that each have half of your kitchen in them.

preview_screenshot3_120682
One of the earlier stages in Overcooked

I worked for over a year in a Domino’s and this game managed to accurately recreate the feeling of being in a crowded kitchen without the terror and despair fast food service brings. My friends and I couldn’t stop playing for hours straight, even going back and getting better ratings on earlier levels just for fun. The only knock against it is that the difficulty ramps up pretty quickly in the middle of the 2nd batch of levels. Overcooked is a fantastic party game and is on Xbox One, PS4, and Steam.

What was Watched

The only thing of note I watched this week was the first couple of episodes in Sword Art Online’s 2 second arc. It sucks.

News

PSN Holiday Sale Week 4

PSN is continuing its holiday sale in North America with a fourth week that has some big names on sale. Here’s a list of titles that I think are worth a look; some items may have a brief blurb explaining why I recommend this game. All of the I’ve games listed are on the PS4, but not all games in the sale are on the PS4, and all prices are USD with the PS+ price listed second if there is one. This sale ends 1/3/16 at 8am PST.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Special Edition: $40.19

Dishonored 2: $40.19

I Am Setsuna: $30.79, $26.79
Disclaimer: I haven’t actually played this game but I’ve heard mostly positive responses to it, namely that it is a nice, simple callback to old school jRPGs.

Inside: $13.99, $9.99

Resident Evil 4: $11.99, $9.99

Street Fighter V: $29.99, $19.79

Titanfall 2 Standard Edition: $29.99

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt: $19.99, $15.99

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Complete Edition: $29.99, $24.99

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Blood and Wine DLC: $14.99, $12.99

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Hearts of Stone DLC: $7.49, $6.49

Valkyria Chronicles Remastered: $23.99, $20.99
If you enjoy tactical games and like/can tolerate anime, this is a slam dunk.

Frog Fractions 2 Discovered

If you haven’t played Frog Fractions, do it. The announcement, development, and search for the released sequel game has become a rollercoaster unlike any other in video games. Multiple ARGs and many hours of Internet detective work has lead to the discovery that the Steam game Glittermitten Grove contains Frog Fractions 2. There’s more details but frankly Patrick Klepek and Jeff Gerstmann have covered this story fantastically and I’d feel bad just reiterating what they’ve said. Klepek wrote a piece on the discovery of Frog Fractions 2 and Gerstmann interviewed Jim Crawford, the creator of Frog Fractions.

Yoko Taro Supports Atlus’s RE Fantasy

Many Japanese game developer have come out in support of Atlus’s recently announced Project RE Fantasy, and NieR and Drakengard creator Yoko Taro has shown his support in a way only he could. Taro diagramed the Japanese RPG industry and concluded that Atlus moving into the fantasy genre could mean the end for NieR. The video at the link is in Japanese but thankfully Siliconera has loosely translated the video.

RE7 Interview

Resident Evil 7 Producer Masachika Kawata did an interview with GameInformer that covers why RE7 is first-person, among other details.

SEGA: Valkyria Chronicles will Continue after Revolution

In a post on the Japanese PlayStation blog Valkyria Revolution Director Takeshi Ozawa and Producer Youichi Shimosato explained why Revolution is so different from previous Valkyria games, but also assured fans that the original Chronicles series will continue. They drew comparisons between the mainline Shin Megami Tensei games and the PErson series, in that both series use many of the same terminologies and share some gameplay elements, but both have very different tones and (mostly) separate worlds. Dualshockers has a translated version of the interview.

Persona 5 Update

Persona 5 is still not available in North America

b8dxndpciaavvwc

What’s on the Plate

I will continue watching and writing about SAO, as well as playing The Last Guardian and Steins;Gate. My curiosity may get the better of me and make me give FF XV a quick look, but no promises. Apologies for both the lackluster post and the delays in the SAO piece, it’s almost as if the holiday season is really hectic. Hope you had a great 2016 despite its many flaws and here’s to 2017. As always, thanks for reading.

 

Chew me out for my laziness at my Twitter: https://twitter.com/JoetheBald197
Leave a Reply

