Bald-faced News: 1/29/17 Positive Changes

It’s a late Sunday news post! We’ve got to pray just make it to Prey (2) release dates, science is weirder than fiction, and I found a way to not play Drakengard.

What was Played

The Dishonored 2 patches that included new difficulty modifiers, chapter select, new game+, and several other tweaks came out and I am playing DH2 again to see how much effect these changes have. From what little I’ve played, having the chapter select and NG+ feel like features that should’ve shipped in the base game, and the tweaks to detection help your situational awareness immensely. I’ll have my full impressions up soon, and add my impressions to my DH2 review, but I will not be changing the score on the review.

I picked up Ys: Memories of Celceta on a whim and after a couple hours in I have to say it’s a fun, if shallow game. Celceta is an action RPG with fun, simple combat, a fun, simple story, and a fun, simple world. It’s the “play before bed” game I’ve been looking for. I don’t have to think too much, but there’s enough to the game to keep it from getting too boring. Celceta is by no means a fantastic RPG, but I suspect I’m not going to be as let down by this game as I was by Trails of Cold Steel , which was from the same developers.

What Was Watched

I didn’t watch any new movies or shows, but in the lead up to NieR: Automata I decided I needed to find a way to get the lore of the Drakengard series without playing them, as we’ve been told that understanding Drakengard 3 will help with understanding Automata. But the Drakengard games don’t play well and tracking them all down would be a chore. Enter Clemps, a YouTuber with a penchant for the Drakengard series. If you’re at all interested in getting the story of the Drakengard games I highly recommend his Drakengard Analysis series, and also covers Nier. He goes into great detail about the plots of each game, which is what matters.

News

PSN “Essentials” Sale

Personally, I wouldn’t call most of these games “essentials”, but there are some good gets. All prices are USD, full sale here. Sale ends 8 AM PST.

PS4

Axiom Verge: $11.99, $9.99 (also on Vita)

Borderlands: The Handsome Collection: $25.79, $19.79

Darksiders II: Deathinitive Edition: $14.99, $11.99

Metro Redux: $10.49, $7.49

SOMA: $11.99, $8.99

Titanfall 2: $35.99

Titanfall 2 Deluxe Edition: $47.99, $39.99

Vita/PSP

Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc: $19.99, $15.99

Super Danganronpa 2: Goodbye Despair: $27.99, $23.99

Ys: Memories of Celceta: $13.99, $11.99 (tentative recommendation)

Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire Announced, Already Funded

Pillars of Eternity II, the sequel to a game I wish I had played more, was announced officially on January 26th, and unofficially revealed by Polygon on the 25th. The Fig campaign reached its base goal of 1.1 million dollars in under 24 hours. Obsidian is one of the best in the business of creating realized game worlds with true RPG choice and great world building and it is fantastic they have found their niche.

Prey 2017 Trailer and Release Date: 5/5/17

Arkane’s Prey  will be out on March 5, 2017.

 

Prey seems to be going for a Bio/System Shock feel, with traditional FPS mechanics supplemented by supernatural powers. This project has tremendous ambition and I have to say I’m happy that I have no idea what the exact setting or premise is; props to Arkane and Bethesda for not blasting us with early plot details.

Tekken 7 Delayed Until June

In an amazingly over-the-top and self-serious trailer for Tekken 7 it was revealed the home console port has been delayed to June 2, 2017.

 

My heart goes out to all the western Tekken fans, who’ll just have to keep playing the amazing Tag Tournament 2 until Tekken 7 is released outside of Japanese arcades.

Mass Effect Andromeda Trailers

We got a cinematic trailer and a “briefing” video for MEA.

 

The briefing has more info overall, and the cinematic trailer suggest we may get stuck with another ancient evil antagonist. There’s still a severe lack of new races from what we’ve been shown so far despite strong hints of a squadmate from one of Andromeda’s races.

Scientists Discover Chaos Emeralds Time Crystals

People far more intelligent than I have discovered “time crystals.” The basic idea is that the crystals’ structure repeats, not just physically (in space), but also temporally (in time). I have no idea what any of this actually means, I’m just glad to live in a world where the phrase “time crystals” isn’t just sci-fi technobabble.

What’s on the Plate

I’m working on organizing my GOTY lists an nominees. Currently the categories are: Best Game, Worst Game, Best Surprise, Worst Surprise, Best Looking, Most Underrated, and Most Overrated. Each category will have on winner and one runner up/honorable mention and a short write up on why the winner and runner up won that category. And yes, I stole some of these from Giant Bomb. I’m rethinking how I’ll be doing my next SAO piece; trying to fit writing it into my schedule while making it less of a rambling mess than my first attempt. I think I’ll write up a review of each episode as I view it, and then go back a edit as needed, but that idea isn’t final yet. And finally, I want to work on doing more positive pieces to balance out the negative SAO talk. Mainly I want to write about games, shows, and movies I like, especially ones I don’t see a lot of love for in wider “geek” culture without coming off like the unqualified, pretentious nerd that I am.

Sincere apologies for the late post, especially one involving a sale. I’ll try and manage my time better in the future for you guys. As always, thanks for reading.

 

Header image source: https://regmedia.co.uk/2016/09/12/time_crystal.jpg?x=1200&y=794
Come rebuke me for my tardiness and/or poor blog formatting on my Twitter: https://twitter.com/JoetheBald197
Leave a Reply

