Bald-faced News 5/25/17: Acronyms Can Be Confusing

Early post cuz I’m scared of more news happening and the post doubling in length! Fire Emblem is baaaaaaack in all its strategic, waifu-barren, stat manipulating glory. I played a lot of Shadows of Valentia this week, but we’ve also got Shenmue rumors, more TF2 updates, and Far Cry 5 gets “controversial”.

What Was Played

I spent most of my rare free time playing Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia and boy do I like this game a lot. I’ve previously mentioned that I enjoyed Awakening and was pretty soured on Fates when all was said and done, but SoV has that pre-Awakening feel that reminds me of the GCN and Wii FE games. True to its original incarnation, SoV has several small tweaks to the Fire Emblem formula to make this feel like a more than just a fun spin-off. Just a couple of the tweaks are: archers can attack at point blank and their range is often far more than 2 squares, there are third-person dungeon crawling and first-person adventure game-esque in-town segments, there is an overworld where you move your two armies to different maps on your own, each unit has one inventory slot for either better equipment or a healing item, spells cost HP to cast, and there is no weapon degradation. All of these don’t change the core Fire Emblem strategy of using terrain, protecting weaker units, and managing exp, but now you have far more options in how you approach that goal. I haven’t tried to spec my archers in this manner, but one of them has an attack range of 5 squares. Despite the rules being far from standard for Fire Emblem at any stage in its lifespan, the art, story, and tone all make this feel more like classic FE than the most recent incarnations. I’ve heard horror stories of later chapters’ difficulty and lack of interesting maps, but I’m looking forward to this finishing FE and any more entries in the Echoes series.

News

Far Cry 5 Key Art and Teasers Hint at a Sinister Montana

FC5Keyart.jpg

This is going to spark some debates, I’m a Christian and personally I’m not offended at all, but that’s a discussion for another day.

What is a discussion for right now is how this game will play. This setting seems to be a fair departure from Far Cry’s typical fare, and while I am completely sold on the setting this game needs to be substantially different from previous FC games, and Ubi games in general. Saying the Ubi formula is stale now is one of the most overstated facts in this industry, and all eyes are on Far Cry 5 to see how it shakes it up. I’m looking forward to seeing more, and hopefully a gameplay demo, at E3 this year. Just in case this art wasn’t enough of a hint at the tone of the villain, here’s Ubisoft’s teaser trailers for the game.

Update: Full Announcement Trailer and Extra Details 

Ubisoft has released the full reveal trailer and put out a couple of details about the game. You’ll have a customizable character, full campaign co-op, and will release on February 27, 2018. The player character customization means you can change their skin color and gender. There are pilotable planes, and dogfights are a thing. The villain’s name is Joseph Seed, the charismatic religious leader of a militia, and your protagonist is a deputy who stumbles upon a silently forming coup in the fictional Hope county in Montana.

Frankly, I’m in even if this game doesn’t update the Far Cry formula that much. This setting seems like it’ll be really interesting and satisfying to explore and shoot and blow up.

Shenmue 1 & 2 Remasters [RUMOR]

A source close to Atlus USA is saying that there are incoming remasters of Shenmue 1 2. The source of this article was ricedigital.co.uk, but I couldn’t find a way to link to the actual article, it kept loading a blank or unresponsive page when I tried to put it in WordPress. We already know SEGA registered Shenmue HD web domains, and it would be practically free money at this point to remaster those games, so I don’t see any reason why SEGA wouldn’t do this. Unless they want to spare everyone the realization that the Shenmue games were never that good and let everyone keep their nostalgia goggles on for the third game.

Titanfall 2: Monarch’s Reign Update Trailer

You don’t know because I’m taking my sweet time editing that post, but Titanfall 2 was my GOTY 2017. Respawn is giving us one completely new Titan, a new map, and putting two Prime Titans up for purchase. The new Titan and map are free, but the cosmetic Primes cost real money.

Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle Leaks

That rumored Mario x Rabbids game leaked and it’s…something.

mariorabbids.jpgIt seems like the official reveal was supposed to be at E3 and the release is slated for August. I can’t discern what the game actually is, there’s statements like “35% Exploration” and ” 65% Turn Based Combat”, so is it a gird-based tactics game? I’m hyped for this, but I am curious to see what this thing actually is. Ubisoft always tries to get onboard with any console launch and this seems like their biggest investment thus far. Props to Nintendo World Report for gleaning this info, more at their site at the link above.

Red Dead Redemption 2 Delayed to Spring 2018; April at the Earliest

Surprising nobody and no one, Rockstar has announced that RDR2 is aiming to launch in Spring 2018, with April as the absolute earliest estimate.

As a consolation they posted a bunch of new screenshots on their site. I’m not really shocked or disappointed in the delay, but they also mentioned that there won’t be any RDR2 or Rockstar presence at E3 this year. Red Dead Redemption 1 was a fantastic game, but I’m disappointed that this game is a direct sequel and not Red Dead Rodeo/Round Up/Rickety Chair or some other form of spiritual sequel like RDR was to RDR.

Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen Coming to Current Gen Consoles

In a long line of games that seem like they’d be right up my alley, but I never played for more than an hour, DD: DA is coming to PS4 and XB1. The release for this remaster is set sometime in Fall 2017. I remember in my brief time with it that there were some framerate issues, but that’s my fault for being a console peasant. I swear I’m going to play it all the way through this time!

VA-11 HALL-A Update

VA-11 HALL-A still isn’t out for the Vita.

crowbar-heart

 

What’s On The Plate

I’m going to keep chipping away at Shadows of Valentia and watching the new Twin Peaks. Thank you for reading, as always, and I hope you have a great three day weekend (for my American readers).

My Twitter: https://twitter.com/JoetheBald197

Leave a Reply

